Wednesday, July 04, 2007

Declaration of Independence

From Under The Steeple

On July 4, 1776 the Continental Congress signed the Declaration of Independence marking the official break between Great Britain and the American Colonies. There were 56 men, including two future U. S. Presidents, that signed the original document. The American War for Independence, or American Revolution, would not end until September of 1783 with the signing of the Paris Peace Treaty.

No comments: